your creativity coach by robyn mcclendon

reach your goals discover your creative mind

“What Can We Learn From The Alchemist?”

Yesterday afternoon I took some time off and read “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho…Although it was first published in 1993 and on several occasions I’ve seen others reading it…I never had.

Not sure why… the tittle alone would have signaled interest to me…I guess it’s just one of those things….however I greatly enjoyed it and was incredibly inspired…

The book confronts many of the ideas that I talk about on this blog and what I’ve discovered, thus far, from life…the things that stand between our dreams and the reality we seem to create despite ourselves….

Here’s a passage that, for me, sums up the central theme of the book, these ideas are liberating when one is confronting themselves and seeking a change of direction in life.

“Everyone on earth has a treasure that awaits him” his heart said. “We, people’s hearts seldom say much about those treasures, because people no longer want to go in search of them.  We speak of them only to children.  Later, we simply let life proceed, in its own direction, toward its own fate.  But, unfortunately, very few follow the path laid out for them-the path to their Personal Legends, and to happiness.  Most people see the world as a threatening place, and , because they do, the world turns out, indeed, to be a threatening place.

“So, we, their hearts, speak more and more softly.  We never stop speaking out, but we begin to hope that our words won’t be heard: we don’t want people to suffer because they don’t follow their hearts.”

“Why don’t people’s hearts tell them to continue to follow their dreams?” the boy asked the alchemist.

“Because that’s what makes a heart suffer most, and hearts don’t like to suffer.”

If you’re so inclined, pick up a copy of “The Alchemist”, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed, my hope is, you’ll be inspired and encouraged to continue towards your dream, that thing that ignites a fire in you, a passion that has not died despite the demands of life.

As Always…Much Love

Photobucket
Follow Me on Pinterest

Other Reads…

The Alchemist read by Jeremy Irons

10 responses to ““What Can We Learn From The Alchemist?”

  1. Pingback: Give Up on Being the Only Driver of Change in Your Life | Writing Your Destiny

  2. Pingback: The Alchemist read by Jeremy Irons « mindscapes and galactic travels

  3. Lilla December 22, 2012 at 4:24 am

    Would you mind if I quote a several of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your webpage:
    http://yourcreativitycoachbyrobynmcclendon.
    wordpress.com/2012/06/09/what-can-we-learn-from-the-alchemist/.
    I’m going to aslo be sure to give you the proper anchor-text link using your blog title: What Can We Learn From The Alchemist? your creativity coach by robyn mcclendon. Be sure to let me know if this is okay with you. Thanks alot 🙂

  4. Vivian December 22, 2012 at 7:21 am

    Doh! I was domain name searching at namecheap.com and
    went to type in the domain name: http://yourcreativitycoachbyrobynmcclendon.

    wordpress.com/2012/06/09/what-can-we-learn-from-the-alchemist/ and guess who already had it?
    You did! haha j/k. I was about to purchase this domain name but noticed it was taken
    so I decided I’d come check it out. Wonderful blog!

  5. Elsie December 27, 2012 at 11:01 am

    Neat blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download
    it from somewhere? A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your theme. With thanks

Leave a Reply

